Give the gift of warmth with this last minute DIY scarf

Hey y’all! So here is the first of many new, fun twists to my blog. DIY! Woohoo! Everyone loves a good DIY, especially with Christmas quickly approaching (less than a week!!) and the stress of last minute shopping increasing by the milisecond. I think it’s about time that we pull out a good DIY to save you from the hustle and bustle of the mall, the lack of parking and crowded, stuffy stores is enough to drive anyone straight into Grinch mode. So, let’s avoid that terror this year and conjure up something a little more meaningful, and sure to put you straight to the top of Santa’s nice list, or your mom’s favorite child list, which ever you prefer.

About a month ago I discovered the woners of arm knitting, an easier, less stressful version of regular knitting. I was scrolling through Pinterest and saw a few posts about it and decided I was going to teach myself how to arm knit! It took a few failed attempts and some trial and error with Youtube tutorials, but I eventually got the hang of it and was able to whip up an adorable infinity scarf. Since teaching myself, I’ve been making a few of these each week for different people in my family for Christmas gifts, and let me tell you, it is a life saver!! All you need are two working arms and some thick yarn and you’re set. No need to run to the mall and have a panic attack in the middle of the food court because you realize you forogt to buy presents for 5 people and your bank account is currently a countdown to poverty because you’re in college and who the heck has money to go shopping in college!? No, no, this year you can wow your friends and family with a thoughtful, handmade gift and save your sanity all at the same time!

As much as I would love to say I was capable of learning AND teaching how to arm knit, I can not, so here is the video I used to teach myself. They do a way better job of explaining than I do. Instead I’ll just show you some photos of a couple scarfs I’ve made so far. Happy crafting and Merry Christmas!

IMG_2079 IMG_2080_2 IMG_2081_2

Before you go. . .

What are some other fun DIY projects you’d like to see me tackle? Let me know in the comment box below.

Leave a Reply

