Swap ground beef for turkey to make a healthier burger

Enough of this sweet talk I’ve been doing lately; it is time to get savory. As much as I love blogging about sweets, I think it is high time I switch it up. Summer may be over, but fall is still the perfect time to crack open the grill, invite over your nearest and dearest and enjoy whipping up some delicious burgers. Nothing beats spending a Saturday night hanging out in the backyard, enjoying this glorious fall weather and savoring the wondrous smell of the grill as it billows out smoke in preparation for some mouth-watering burgers.

Normally when you envision the perfect burger you tend to think in terms of good ole fashioned beef, but I’d like to introduce you to a new, yet equally delicious burger, the turkey burgers. I know it sounds a bit odd that a Midwest, down-home Iowa girl would be advising you to try turkey instead of beef, but don’t discount my credibility just yet! I’m a true Midwesterner, raised on steak and potatoes, but believe me when I say, once you try these burgers, you’ll understand what I mean when I say they’re worth the switch. I discovered this recipe on Rachael Ray’s website this summer and decided to give it a whirl, and boy am I glad I did. These tender little bundles of burger goodness are so mouth-wateringly delicious you wont have any time to ponder “Where’s the beef!?” Just writing about these burgers is making my mouth water, but enough talking; let’s get down to business. Before you go. . . Have you ever considered trying turkey or any other kind of beef substitute for your burgers? If so let me know what you’ve tried and what you thought in the comment box bellow!

What you’ll need. . .

1 lb. of ground turkey

1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1 tbsp. chopped fresh chives (optional)

¼ tsp. pepper

1/8 tsp. salt

4 hamburger buns

Directions In a bowl combine ground turkey, Parmesan cheese, chives, pepper and salt. Mix together until ingredients are equally mixed into the turkey you don’t want one burger with a massive hunk of cheese and another with no cheese at all. unnamedNext, form the turkey into a uniform circle and score it down the middle and then across. The goal is to have four equal sections so that you do not end up with one massive burger and three puny ones; instead you’ll end up with four perfect patties. unnamed2 Whether you are grilling your burgers on the grill or a skillet inside, be sure to grease the pan/grill well so that the burgers do not stick. Turkey tends to stick to the grill more than beef, so be sure to follow this step so you don’t demolish your delicious burgers. unnamed3 When your burgers are done feel free to doctor them up however you prefer! I recommend adding sliced avocado, bacon, sliced Swiss cheese and bbq sauce, but feel free to be as creative as your taste buds desire.

Tips & tricks A few suggestions before you go:

  1. If you’re not sure what to serve as a side dish try homemade sweet potato fries; they’re a healthier alternative to regular fries, and they add some color to your plate!
  2. Not sure about what to have for dessert? Check out my previous posts about pumpkin dip or three ingredient cookies. They’re both serious crowd pleasers.

If you have gluten-intolerant friends like me, you can use lettuce leaves as an easy, and healthy, replacement for buns!

2 thoughts on “Swap ground beef for turkey to make a healthier burger

  1. I was already starving before I came in here, so cool. I love to grill and while I haven’t only used turkey once I do appreciate your post. It is much leaner and healthier. This may sound odd, but deer burgers are about the same as turkey burgers (I’m from Mississippi). They’re very lean as well. Love this.

    Like

  2. I have always known turkey burgers were out there, but I never tried them because I was afraid it would not be good at all. I never really come across turkey burgers either, but if I do not come across them soon, I might just have to go to the kitchen and make it myself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

