Chocolate Chex cereal makes for a fun twist to a fall favorite

Now that October is here, it seems as though baking sweets and treats is officially in full swing. My mind has been swirling with all the different, scrumptious treats I could whip up for y’all. I tend to be a bit indecisive, so I thought it would only be necessary to consult my mom for some inspiration. She reminded me of a gloomy, fall day back in elementary school, when my brother and I begged my mom to make us homemade Rice Krispies treats, but she was out of the cereal. Regardless, we insisted she make us something, anything! Luckily for us, our mom is quite the creative cook, so she decided to give in to our persistence and make due with what she had.

If there is anything I learned from my mom when it comes to cooking, it’s that innovation and creativity are key. When you don’t have a certain ingredient, take a look around the kitchen and see what you can use as a replacement. Think outside the box! In my mom’s case, she knew we didn’t have Rice Krispies, but we did have Golden Grahams. Obviously, they weren’t the same, but they would have to do. This random twist made for a great fall alternative to a true classic. Thanks to my amazingly innovative mother and our adorable walk down memory lane, I was inspired to whip up my own fun fall twist.

Creating my own twist to my mom’s innovation came with a slight challenge, due to the fact that I no longer eat gluten. Fortunately Chex brand makes an entire line of affordable gluten-free cereals in numerous flavors. I stumbled upon the chocolate flavor and realized it would work perfectly. You are free to meander the cereal aisle and find a cereal fitting to your taste buds, but I promise this treat will be so gooey and delicious you won’t even notice the missing gluten!

Recipe

6 cups of chocolate Chex cereal or cereal of choice

1 package (10 oz., about 40) JET-PUFFED Marshmallows

1/4 cup unsalted butter

Directions

1. In large saucepan melt butter over low heat. Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted. Remove from heat.

IMG_1451

2. Mix in 6 cups of chocolate Chex cereal or cereal of choice, until well coated

.IMG_1452

3. Line a cookie sheet or baking pan with wax paper or tin foil, evenly press mixture into lined pan.

IMG_1456

4. Allow time to cool, then either cut into squares, or serve up in individual containers.

IMG_1458

*Depending on the cereal you choose feel free to sprinkle powdered sugar over the top of your finished product for added flare.

Before you go. . .

What did you think of this fun alternative to the classic Rice Krispies treat? Do you have a favorite cereal you think would work better? Let me know if the comment box below; enjoy!

One thought on “Chocolate Chex cereal makes for a fun twist to a fall favorite

  1. This sounds delicious! It reminds me of a Chex cereal party-mix my mom always makes at Christmas. Honestly, you can’t beat the original Chex mix cereal recipes. I love chocolate and didn’t even know there was a Chocolate Chex mix! Great idea though, I will definitely be trying this recipe:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

