Turn fresh picked apples into a delicious pie!

Well, my dear readers, although I have made it pretty evident that I am a Midwest girl, please excuse me if I misuse this Southern term, but happy fall, y’all! You have no idea how long I have been waiting for the perfect opportunity to say that! Considering yesterday was the first official day of fall, I felt it appropriate to dedicate this blog to my undeniable love for this gorgeous season. Everywhere you look it is evident that fall is creeping its way in and pushing summer out. Each day the morning air is beginning to have a crispness that sends a slight shiver down your spine as you walk out your door and head to class. The leaves on the trees are slowly loosing their glorious, green glow of summer and morphing into beautiful autumnal shades of orange, yellow and red. It’s a subtle change that seems to appear almost all at once. Next thing you know, the leaves are beginning to float down to the ground with each shift in the wind, and every step you take becomes audible with the crunch of crispy leaves. This inevitable transition of seasons cries out for numerous afternoons devoted to one thing: baking! Nothing is more superb for fall baking than apples! This past weekend my little Midwest self got to enjoy my first ever apple-picking experience! Let me tell you, it was a blast! My beautiful friends and I woke up bright and early Saturday morning, drove to a little apple orchard an hour outside Nashville and picked a ridiculous amount of apples. We may or may not have also taken a ridiculous amount of pictures, but hey, we were excited! The rows of trees were all perfectly blotched with little red, ripe apples, perfect picking — and baking, of course. As much as I was excited to pick apples, I was equally excited to bake with them! 14959_10152309665302124_7893763489101380194_n 1966941_10152309664812124_1914363131858694906_n 10710927_10152309666782124_8515770203613281411_n The next day we devoted our entire afternoon to peeling, slicing and baking our delicious apples. We decided to turn our precious apples into an apple pie. Now, before you tune me out, it is not as hard as you may think! There was a major short cut involved to speed up the process and protect our sanity. I’ll go ahead and spill the beans now, before you give up on me as your baking guru. We used a ready-made pie crust. This little short cut greatly increased our ability to become first-time pie pros. If I still have you roped in and ready to embrace some fall baking, grab some apples and scroll down. IMG_1374 Recipe 3/4 cup light  brown sugar 3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg 1 tablespoon lemon juice 1/4 teaspoon salt 6-7 medium apples, peeled, cored and thinly sliced 1 ready made pie crust (I recommend Pillsbury; it offers gluten-free varieties as well! ) Directions In a small bowl, mix together the brown sugar, spices and salt. In another bowl cover apples with lemon juice. Gently mix in the first mixture of spices into the bowl of apples. Make sure to evenly cover all the apples. Then take your ready-made pie crust and fill it with your apple mixture. Bake at 425 for 40 minutes or until bubbly. Be sure to bake your pie on a cookie sheet in order to avoid spillage. When your beautiful pie is done, be sure to allow 10 or so minutes to cool before enjoying. Before you go. . . Do you have any fun fall baking traditions? Let me know in the comment box below

2 thoughts on “Turn fresh picked apples into a delicious pie!

  1. Apple picking during the beginning of fall is so fun! I love the pictures you included with your friends because it made your blog post more personal. Have you ever thought of next time making an apple sauce with your picked apples?

    Like

  2. It seemed like you had so much fun! I am a city girl so when people talk about apple picking or even pumpkin picking it seems very odd and different. I hope to change that this year by actually going pumpkin picking and visiting haunted houses. I wish I knew how to bake but this makes me want to start! I am very excited as well for this fall season and I hope to make new traditions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

