Try these three-ingredient no-bake cookies

Oh, cookies! The beloved baked good that often brings back so many memories from my childhood. They were the first thing I learned to bake with my mom, and one of my favorite things to bake still to this day. Chilly fall afternoons tended to be our baking times. I loved coming home from school, running into the kitchen and seeing my mom standing by the counter with all the ingredients lined up to make her famous chocolate chip cookies. At that moment, I would throw my backpack aside and run to the dining room and grab a chair to stand on in order to help. My favorite part was measuring out all the ingredients and then watching as the mixer combined everything into delicious, doughy goodness. I may or may not have sneaked some batter, from time to time, but that’s just between us!

Regardless of the kind of cookies my mom made, baking with her ingrained so many wonderful memories into my mind. Naturally, this cookie recipe I’m sharing with you is one that we found and tweaked together. These delicious little wonders may not be my mom’s world-famous chocolate chip cookies, but they are pretty darn good! When I decided to make and share these with you, it brought a little melancholy feeling into my heart; the idea of baking without my mom seemed wrong. As much as I wished we could come together in our kitchen and create a fun new recipe, I chose to take this moment to create new memories with baking. Memories with my new family here at school.

But enough of this sappy reminiscing; let’s get to baking! Now the title of this blog is no joke; there really are just three easy ingredients for these cookies. I like to call these my “healthy” twist to the original no-bake cookie, because who doesn’t like the sound of a healthful cookie? A little word of warning before I give you the recipe: these do require some patience. BUT do not fret! When I say they take patience, I just mean patience to let them firm up in the fridge. It’s worth the wait, so throw on your patience pants and let’s get baking!

IMG_1238Recipe

Yields 12-16 cookies (depending on how large or small you form them)

2 ripe bananas, mashed

1 cup of uncooked Old Fashioned Oats

1/4 cup of chocolate chips

Directions

Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick spray, or line a plate with wax paper. Mix mashed bananas in a large bowl with uncooked oats. Fold in chocolate chips. Using a cookie scoop or a spoon, scoop up the batter and deposit it onto your cookie sheet or plate. Place in the refrigerator or freezer. Allow 15-20 minuets to harden.

Tips & Tricks

Feel free to make this recipe your own. Add in anything you think would sound good: walnuts, dried fruit, raisins or your favorite chocolate candies. In the batch pictured above, I melted the chocolate and added a few spoonfuls of peanut butter as well. Don’t be afraid to get creative!

Before you go. . .

In the comment box below, tell me your favorite kind of cookie and a fond memory that comes back to you when you eat it!

3 thoughts on “Try these three-ingredient no-bake cookies

  1. These sound delicious! This is a great recipe for college students who may not have access to an oven. Baking cookies reminds me of my mom too; this post was a little reminder of home which was nice and now I know of a great cookie recipe! I look forward to reading new recipes and ideas from you! 🙂

    Like

  2. I really like how there is a good, personal story behind this cookie recipe. It is obvious that baking cookies brings back a ton of warm memories to you. I enjoyed that aspect of this post. Also, like most people, I have a sweet tooth, and these cookies look like they will hit the spot! I definitely want to try this recipe when I get time.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Swap ground beef for turkey to make a healthier burger | Just a Pinch of Grace

Leave a Reply

