Tailgate-worthy gumbo sloppy Joes

Tailgate season has finally arrived! Amen! Hallelujah!

If there is one thing you should know about this Midwest girl, besides the fact that I love food, it’s that I love college football. Go, Hawkeyes! There is nothing more exciting than waking up on game day Saturday knowing you have a full day of football and food ahead of you. Am I right?

Now in my family, we take Iowa games very seriously, which means we also take tailgates for Iowa games even more seriously. We like to get creative when it comes to our game-day eats. None of this boring grill-out business. So put down your turners and your tongs and slowly back away from the charcoal! I’m talking slow cooker, low ‘n’ slow, warms-your-belly kind of food. I’m talking sloppy Joes! That’s right, I said it, sloppy Joes, but not just any sloppy Joes, we add a little flair to it. Not only do we cook these babies in the slow cooker, hence the low ‘n’ slow, but we substitute the traditional sloppy Joes sauces out for Campbell’s chicken gumbo.

I’ll give you a moment to process. . .

IMG_1232

Trust me, these bad boys are worth giving the grill a break and the slow cooker a chance. My family is so serious about our sloppy Joes consumption we even serve them open face! No need to compromise all that meaty goodness when you can just fork-and-knife it. These sandwiches are so good you will wonder why you didn’t think of them yourself! Tailgates aren’t just for grilling, my friends.

Recipe

2 cans of Campbell’s chicken gumbo soup

2 pounds lean ground beef or lean ground turkey

1/2 cup ketchup

1/2 cup mustard

8-12 buns or preferred sliced bread

Sliced cheese (optional)

Yields 4-6 servings

Directions

1. In a large skillet over medium heat fry ground beef or turkey, breaking up into crumbles until golden brown. This should take about 10 minuets.

2. Transfer meat to a crock pot, setting the crock pot to low.

3. Stir in two cans of Campbell’s Chicken Gumbo soup, 1/2 cup ketchup and 1/2 cup mustard until all the meat is covered.

4. Let mixture thicken up in slow cooker; this should take about four to five minuets.

5. Leave the mixture on low in the slow cooker until your ready to serve.

Serve up your delicious sloppy Joes traditional sandwich style or open face. They’re also great with cheese, but of course that’s optional.

Note: If you do not own a slow cooker, don’t panic! Once you’ve browned the meat, simply add the gumbo to your skillet, throw a lid over it and let it simmer on low until it’s thickened and you’re ready to serve.

Need a side dish? I recommend macaroni Salad, fruit Salad, or cole Slaw

What’s your favorite tailgate dish? Leave me your comments below!

2 thoughts on “Tailgate-worthy gumbo sloppy Joes

  1. I love the way you write! You have very distinct style that has a lot of flare. There are a couple places I think you would want the reader to pause, so don’t forget the commas! Otherwise really good stuff!

    Like

  2. I’m not from around here, and when I say here I mean this place you guys call home… ‘merica. Anyway, I love hearing about these kind of things like tailgating or just even your ideas for recipes because it is so different in Europe. Everyone needs new food ideas because lets face it, food is our heaven on earth!

    Like

Leave a Reply

